Erica White – NBC

Erica White (1984)

I was challenged by some colleagues and friends to write about my own career and life story. I was born in Greenville, South Carolina on February 11, 1981 to Barry and Elisa White, and I was raised in a small town named Piedmont, South Carolina. I have a younger brother named Alex White, and he was born March 18, 1987. He is training to be a paramedic, and he is the father to my niece Chloe. I was the only female grandchild to both sets of grandparents, and I have many, many male cousins, many of whom are similar to older brothers. I was hovered over but I had many opportunities to succeed and to have creative experiences. Playing the piano brings peace to me in a stressful world, and I started playing when I was 9-years-old. Then, I started playing the flute when I was 11-years-old. I also love to write music for the piano. My mother wanted me to be a public school teacher whereas my father wanted me, and still wants to this day, to be a lawyer. My dad’s father wanted me to be a doctor. Those are all fine careers but I have a free-spirited streak so I chose my own path.

I graduated from Wren High School (www.anderson1.k12.sc.us/wrhs) in Piedmont, SC with honors in June, 1999. Then, I went to Winthrop University (www.winthrop.edu) in Rock Hill, South Carolina where I earned a Bachelor of Arts in Mass Communication in June, 2004. Upon graduation from college, I worked in insurance and retail for several years before landing my first job in the media as a Production Assistant at WSPA (www.wspa.com), the CBS affiliate in Spartanburg, South Carolina. I stayed at WSPA from October, 2006 to August, 2007, when I was offered a career change as an Editor at WCNC (www.wcnc.com), the NBC affiliate in Charlotte, North Carolina. I was an Editor for WCNC from August, 2007 until WCNC suffered from the economy downturn, and I was laid off in October, 2009. In February, 2011, I was offered a position at NASCAR Media Group in Charlotte, North Carolina where I was a Media Administrator. I edited the weekly Sprint Cup Series highlight for NASCAR’s Automotive Group and handled any footage requests from clients. In February, 2013, I left NASCAR (www.nascar.com) to pursue more television and film opportunities but, in August, 2013, I was brought on at NBC News Channel as Freelance Media Coordinator. I edit features and quality-check other edited material so it can be sent to all of NBC’s affiliates across the nation.  In October, 2014, I moved to Columbia, South Carolina to produce newscasts.  Now, after a year in the “famously hot” capitol city of South Carolina, I am moving back to Charlotte, North Carolina for a few career opportunities.

All of this sounds complicated, I know, but let me back up to what exactly got me interested in television and films. When I was 16-years-old, the shows Friends and Will & Grace were extremely popular, and I wanted to know how those shows were made in the studios, etc. I did not have a “Come-to-Jesus” meeting nor did I see God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit, or the Virgin Mary when I decided upon my career. I simply wanted to know how my two favorite shows (i.e. Friends, Will & Grace), at the time, were made as well as my favorite film Ghostbusters. I was simply curious, and a news anchor, Michael Cogdill, at WYFF in Greenville, South Carolina told me I could have a career making television shows and films.

Many people may wonder what I am like outside of my blog and career. Well, I hope I am received as a comedienne, a kind- and tender-hearted, but not overly sensitive, person who likes to have fun, is truly sincere, and cares about her friends and family. I appreciate the small things in life, and, typically, I am a jeans and T-shirt type of person but I do like to dress up every once in a while. I am a true believer in encouraging and building people up to their fullest potential. I also believe in being loyal and honest, both of which to a fault, almost. I believe in honest-to-God relationships with people so, as much as I love social media, real relationships form in person and face-to-face. I do not participate in the typical female cattiness, etc. because those actions and type of attitudes are not conducive to forming solid, long-term friendships and relationships. I choose to be a loving, caring, kind, passionate, loyal, honest, and happy person. I am proud of my friends, and I love them as my family. As far as my dating life goes, I seem to be the forever single person in the group who can give the best relationship advice ever. On the flip side, I know the qualities for which I am looking in a man. I might add the best thing which was ever said to me was, “Erica, you deserve to be happy in a relationship just like the rest of us.” Whether I am dating or I am single, I choose strength, happiness, and to simply be me in every situation. You can find out more about my professional work on my online portfolio: http://www.vimeo.com/ericaleighwhite.

My professional experience is on LinkedIn (linkedin.com/pub/erica-white/10/b72/943), and my love of all things of movies and TV is always on my blog The Movie Buff on WordPress (wordpress.com/ericaleighwhite).

The most current picture of myself is below:

Erica White's Current Picture

Erica White’s Current Picture

Leave a Reply

