Felix Pire – 12 Monkeys (Film Version directed by Terry Gilliam)

Photo Credit: It's My Party Still

Photo Credit: It’s My Party Still

Felix Anthony Pire was born on May 27th, 1971 in Tampa, Florida, is of Cuban descent, and is the oldest of three children. He has two younger brothers named Daniel (middle brother) and Javier Pire (youngest brother). Felix is originally from a small town outside of Miami, Florida, and, in 1989, he graduated from high school (New World School of Arts in Miami, Florida – http://nwsa.mdc.edu/). Upon high school graduation, Felix attended Southern Methodist University (www.smu.edu) in Dallas, Texas where, in 1993, he earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Acting and Directing with an emphasis in Film. Currently, he resides in Hollywood, California and teaches improvisation classes at the American Academy of Dramatic Arts (www.aada.org) in Los Angeles, California and the University of California – Los Angeles Extension campus (www.uclaextension.com). Additionally, he is a guest professor at the University of Southern California (www.usc.edu) in Los Angeles, California; Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas; and the New World School of Arts in Miami, Florida. Also, Felix owns his own production company – The Pixel Fire Company – which produces Assclown and Titmouse, an animated and puppet-filled comedic Internet show. To find out more about the business plan for his production company, go to http://felixpire.com/wp-content/uploads/ThePixelFireCompany_BusinessPlan.pdf.

He has special interests in puppets, improvisation, and comedy. Felix’s puppetry talents are used in the Internet shows such as Los TiteresTV (English Translation: The Puppets TV), 88 Jade Way, and The Dispensible Bliss. Sometimes, Felix performs at The Comedy Store’s Belly Room. For a long time, Felix was confused with Flight of the Navigator’s Joey Cramer. While they both were in It’s My Party, Felix played Soli Real, a Brazilian performance artist, while Joey’s part was fleeting as a party guest.

His current filmography is:

12 Monkeys (1995), It’s My Party (1996), Matt Waters (1996),
Dear God (1996), Gideon’s Crossing (2001), The Rerun Show (2002), NYPD Blue (2003), Tales of a Fly on the Wall (2004), Phat Girlz (2006), Pollen (2006), Equal Opportunity (2007), Wild Girls Gone (2007), Screening Party (2008), Prison Break (2008), Demption (2008), Team Smithereen (2009), Family Restaurant (2012), How to Rock (2012), 88 Jade Way (2013), The Dispensable Bliss (2013)

His Twitter handle is @FelixPire, and you can follow his official fan page on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Felix-Pire/126610630741686?ref=ts&fref=ts. His official website is http://www.felixpire.com, and his YouTube channel is http://www.youtube.com/user/FelixPire. He also has a Vimeo account at http://vimeo.com/felixpire. All very good stuff!!

Here’s my personal opinion – he’s a really nice guy and a true talent. I have the evidence to back his talent. He’s won many awards such as the New York Outer Critics Circle award in 1997 for “Men on the Verge of a His-Panic Breakdown,” Arizona Theater Company’s National Latino Playwriting Award in 2001 for “The Origins of Happiness in Latin,” and the Certificate of Recognition of Creative Excellence from ABC Television’s Talent Development Group for the screenplay he wrote entitled “Hurricane Nena.” “Hurricane Nena” garnered recognition at the Cynosure Screenwriting Competition where the screenplay was a semi-finalist. As far as being a nice guy, I have the honor and privilege of knowing him on a personal level. Of course, his kindness and humor is of personal opinion. You’ll need to find out how funny he is through his YouTube account (www.youtube.com/user/FelixPire).

On Wednesday, July 17, 2013, he had an audition for ABC’s Actor’s Showcase. Go Team Felix! In September, 2013, Felix was chosen as one of 20 finalists in the 2013 National Hispanic Media Coalition’s TV Writers Program. In March, 2014, he worked on an independent film in Boyle Heights, California entitled Los Lonely Ones, produced by J.T. Villalobos. In this film, Felix played a religious ex-convict.

So, I promised Felix I’d add a hilarious shenanigan to his entry here he doesn’t know a whole lot about so here it goes.  Felix, I hope you find it as funny as I do now.  Foreshadowing – I can seduce anyone with my awkwardness!  Anyways, in late June, 2013, I received a phone call from Beverly Hills, CA, and I don’t know anyone who lives there.  I started to panic, thinking someone was royally mad at me for something I wrote about them on this very blog and went to some trouble in finding my cell phone number.  I was in the middle of a used bookstore and answered the phone cautiously.  To my surprise, the caller was a representative from the HR department from FOX studios to set up an interview for a potential job.  Whew!  I wasn’t in trouble, and no one was upset.

Let’s move on to early August, 2013.  I get an e-mail directly from Mr. Felix Pire to my personal e-mail account.  All I saw in the subject line on my phone was “I Read the Blog You Wrote About Me . . .”  Nausea ensued.  He hates it.  What I had failed to realize was, when I linked this blog to other social media sites, the picture of my most recent “victim” also showed alongside the link.  So, now, he hates, and he thinks I am a stalker.  (He and I are Twitter followers of each other, and we’re LinkedIN connections too.)  Face palm!  So, I open the e-mail and realize there is an smiley face at the end of that subject line title.  He wrote the nicest e-mail ever about what I wrote, etc.  For that, I appreciate the sentiments, and I am honored, blessed, and excited to be his friend.  He is truly way cool.

felix

Leave a Reply

